Sunday, April 14, 2013

Toby Lightman "Holding A Heart" Album Review & Giveaway

New York singer-songwriter Toby Lightman has just released her new EP entitled "Holding A Heart". The album, which I was recently given the opportunity to listen to was literally music to my ears.

Lightman's voice comes close to sounding very Sheryl Crow-esque and seems to really shine through when paired with only a guitar (as seen in the video for her acoustic version of "Thinking About You").  Holding A Heart is labeled a "pop" music album but don't expect it to sound anything like Brit-Brit. No way, it's way better. With a soulful indie-pop feeling and its earthy vibe, you'll for sure have the lyrics to this album memorized within minutes.

Holding A Heart EP may only consist of 8 tracks but it packs as much soul as any full album. My personal favorite song was "Waking Up". It's upbeat tune from beginning to end really did it for me when I was feeling a bit bummed. Talk about inducing an instant smile and making you want to just shake your shoulders to the beat.

From releasing her first two records, Little Things (2004) and Bird on a Wire (2006) on Atlantic Records, to releasing three independent records on her own T Killa Records, Let Go (2008), Know Where I'm From (2010), which featured a limited edition, sold out fan participation book, and releasing the latest EP entitled Holding A Heart (2013), that's had numerous film and tv licenses, Toby Lightman has been very busy.

Since becoming an independent artist, it has seemed as though her career has really blossomed through much success with film and TV placements including "Everyday" on Fox's BONES, "Holding A Heart" on WB's One Tree Hill, Vampire Diaries, 90210 as well as the feature film What's Your Number?. Lightman has also recently recorded a lot of vocals for the hit NBC show Smash. Excited about what lies ahead, Lightman is now busier than ever finalizing her newest record, which is due to release later this year.

Holding A Heart can be purchased on Amazon or iTunes.

Holding A Heart tracks (sample here):

  • We Are
  • All This Silence
  • Holding A Heart
  • H-E-L-L-O
  • Wheels
  • Lost (bonus track)
  • Waking Up (bonus track)
  • Holding A Heart (Stripped Version) (bonus track)

* * * * *


One winner will win a digital copy of Toby Lightman's "Holding A Heart" EP album.

(album download link will be sent to winner & will able to be placed on a computer and/or iPod/mp3 player)

Enter here:

Giveaway will end on Friday, April 26 @ 11:59pm (pst) and is open to U.S. residents, 18+ only. Winner will be chosen at random & contacted via email. If winner does not respond within 48 hrs, a new winner will be chosen.

(Disclosure: I was provided with a digital copy of the album in order to review. The winner will receive an email with a link where they will be able to download a digital copy of the album. I was not monetarily compensated for this post and the views in this post are all mine.) 


Post a Comment

I love comments!