Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Rebecca Roubion "Fields" EP Album Review & Giveaway

You know that feeling when you get home after a long day at work and all you want to do is grab a glass of wine & tune out the world with good music? Well, let me introduce you to an album that'll go great with that wine.

Rebecca Roubion is most commonly labeled a indie/pop artist, although in my opinion her soft, yet very strong vocals and jazzy music feel say otherwise.

Having studied piano since she was 7, it's no surprise she can belt out one helluva song while simultaneously playing the keys. Being a product of New Orleans and raised in Mobile, AL, Rebecca is also familiar with both jazz and folk roots and first discovered her immense talent for music and songwriting after her first heartache in high school.

Her new album "Fields" is a four-track EP that was released digitally on November 27.

Most people would probably look at this album & think twice about picking it up because of it's small track list, little do they know that'd be a big mistake. Rebecca's smooth voice manages to relax you and pull you into the music with every lyric and beat.

Whether it's the more upbeat/playful tune of her first track "Love Me Now" or the beautiful piano ballad with string quartet in her third track "Here Lies My Pusle", you'll definitely find something to sooth your soul in this album.

While researching her I came across this really funny and interesting video Rebecca posted on her studio diary about a month ago. It basically shows the strange ways she and her team came up with the cool percussion sound for the first track.

I read an article about her earlier today & it described her as a great mix of Norah Jones and Regina Spektor, which I  couldn't agree more with. Rebecca found a great middle ground between fun and classic and is seriously rockin' it.

Having listened to "Fields" more times than I care to admit (*cough* 9) in the last week I can honestly say this girl's going to be big and I will definitely be keeping an eye out for her future albums, small or not.

Speaking of future albums, I hear through the grapevine she'll be releasing a complimentary EP entitled "Forests", described as a "darker, more haunting compilation," once "Fields" reaches 1,000 sales. So, do me a favor, listen to the album below & when you're done, go buy it!

"Fields" track list:
  1. Love Me Now
  2. Vacherie Girl
  3. Here Lies My Pulse
  4. DoorwayFields 

A digital copy of the album can be purchased for less than $4 on Amazon, Bandcamp, Spotify, and iTunes. For a mailed hard copy of the album please visit Rebecca's website

* * * * * *


One reader will win a SIGNED hard copy of  Rebecca Roubion's EP, "Fields"

Enter here:

Giveaway will close on Thursday, December 6 @11:59 pm (pst) & is open to U.S. residents 18+ only . Winner will be chosen at random & notified via email. If the winner does not respond within 48hrs a new winner will be chosen.

(Disclosure: I was provided with a link to the album tracks in order to review. The complimentary giveaway album will be mailed directly to winner by PR company.  I was not monetarily compensated for this post and the views in this post are all mine.) 


  1. I like DoorwayFields because it's very slow and relaxing. I could definitely unwind to this song. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Sounds great - haven't heard of her, but I love Regina Spektor. Grrr at the US residents thing. Me and all the 17-year-olds will start a riot soon ;-)

  3. Oh my gosh, I'm like 30 seconds into the first song and I already love it. Like Regina Spektor's upbeat songs. Love love love.


I love comments!