Thursday, April 21, 2011

He Is We: My Forever Album Review

I'm pretty picky when it comes to listening to new artists. I know what I like and I tend to stick with it but when I was asked to review an up & coming duo's new album I thought 'what the hell'.

{Album cover}

I'm so glad I said yes! He Is We is one of those indie-pop duo's that are sure to be a huge success. Their newest album 'My Forever' is one of the best albums I've heard in a while. I actually enjoyed every one of the songs on the album. Normally I tend to get bored a few seconds into a song and skip to the next one but that never happened while listening to 'My Forever'.

He Is We is made up of friends Rachel Taylor and Trevor Kelly who first met in 2008. Once they found they had the same passion for music they teamed up and their first collaboration was 'Such a Beautiful Sound', which was written at a friends house.

Rachel takes lead vocals, allowing her smooth and beautiful voice to work it's magic alongside Trevor's back up vocals, mellow harmonies and his fantastic guitar playing.

Each song made me dance in my seat and instantly want to sing along. The songs lyrics are heartfelt and seem to reach out to me as if the song was written just for me. I can't say I have a favorite song because they're all equally great. It's very rare for me to hear an album that starts off strong and continues that way throughout the end but this one did just that.

The one song that really got to me and made me cry (in a good way) was track #6, Kiss It Better...this song has so much emotion in it and it's lyrics tell a very beautiful but tragic love story.

Long story short, I loved this album to pieces, it didn't even matter that is has the work "pop" in it's genre cause it was catchy as hell. I think it's the type of music you'll dig if you're into bands like Death Cab for Cutie, Lilly Allen, Jazon Mraz, Fiest, and Weezer.

'My Forever' contains 11 tracks:

1. Forever & Ever

2. All About Us

3. Everything You Do

4. And Run

5. Happily Ever After (watch music video here)

6. Kiss It Better (listen to song here)

7. Prove You Wrong

8. Blame It On The Rain

9. Love Life

10. Fall

11. And Run (bonus: acoustic version -watch video here)

You can buy the album here & here.
Visit He Is We on their Website, Twitter, Facebook & Myspace.

(Disclosure: I was provided with a copy of the album, 'My Forever' courtesy of Sneak Attack in order to review it. I was not monetarily compensated for this review and the views/opinions in this post are all mine.)



Post a Comment

I love comments!